Who Can hold Conservation Easements in Alberta?

There are 10 conservation organizations in Alberta that are eligible to hold conservation easements. Each one of them has a unique approach to how they work with conservation easements to meet their conservation mandate. For a landowner, the value of having multiple land trusts to choose from is being able to match their personal conservation goals with the organization that best suits them and their land.

Each municipality in Alberta is eligible to hold conservation easements as well. Two municipalities are highlighted here, Strathcona County and Beaver County; but many others in Alberta also hold conservation easements.

Home    The basics    Profiles    Using the tool    Resources

2013 Miistakis Institute